What if?

Fear is a natural response to the unknown. Fear can be overcome, fear is meant to be overcome! Everyone feels it in different situations, many fail to see how unreasonable this emotion or feeling is and how easily it destroys us.
A coward makes a lifestyle out of being overcome by fear instead of taking that fear into the ring and knocking Fear out before it has a chance to poison us.
Fear lives from our “if onlys” https://vivona88.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/if-only/ and grows from our “what ifs”.

What if something happens?
What if I dont get the results I want?
What if I fall?
What if I get hurt; physically, emotionally, mentally?
What if someone finds out?
What if I dont make it?
What if they get angry?
What if they wont accept me?
What if they look at me differently?
What if they won’t like me if I don’t?
What if I’m not good enough?
What if I’m not tall/pretty/handsome/skilled/talented/fast/strong enough?
What if my past gets brought up?
What if they hold grudges?
What if I cant?
What if I change?
What if they change?
What if this pattern continues on forever?
What if_________?

The list can continue on indefinitely and absolutely shall until the what ifs stop and we open the floodgates of the courage we dam up behind the cold iron gates of fear. Nothing has been the root cause of more deaths in history, more lives ruined, or more achievements left unachieved than fear.

What is our best weapon against the cold dark of fear in our hearts? How do we fight that which cripples, twists and paralyzes us into submission? By never giving up HOPE and pushing through to what we see. Make the choices to get you to your goals and where you see yourself instead of letting fear twist who you are into something you may hate. Be who you are meant to be. A person of courage and decisive action. People who are meant to be in your life will respect and admire you for it and as for the ones who do not, well you will see…
Do not wait to “end up” somewhere. If life is a journey, then we are constantly moving and just like in the physical world, we choose which roads to take.

Check this out, Romans 12:12
“Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.”

Fear is a tool of destruction. Anyone who has been afraid has seen the vile things fear does to us. Why choose to let it rule you? An act of cowardice can ruin a lifetime of joy. Why change what “may be” into what IS by allowing fear to run your show? In psalm 56, David was captured. He could have given up and resigned himself to death in his grim circumstance, but did he? No my friends, he did not. What did he do? He took action, using the greatest tool we have at our disposal and the biggest source of hope and joy we as tiny beings on one tiny planet in all of creation have. David prayed. David had faith in his Creator that he would be protected and David did not let fear dictate what he chose to do. See for yourself.

Psalms 56:3-4

“But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you. I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid? What can mere mortals do to me?”

I encourage you to read the rest of psalm 56 yourself. If you do not have a bible, I assume you are on the internet since you are reading this, go to http://www.youversion.com and look it up there. Always put verses in their proper context, so others and yourself see what is truly meant by them.

Follow your heart. Especially as a believer in the grace and peace and glory and COURAGE that is Christ. God lives in you, trust His judgement. Fear is a blockade and also a crutch to lean on as excuses for not doing what we are meant to do, or being who we are called to be. Opportunities are lost as quickly as they arrive so seize them when you feel the pull on your heart strings. You may not get another opening like it.

Parting truth:

2 Timothy 1:7
“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.”

Psalms 34:2-6
“I will boast only in the Lord; let all who are helpless take heart. Come, let us tell of the Lord ’s greatness; let us exalt his name together. I prayed to the Lord , and he answered me. He freed me from all my fears. Those who look to him for help will be radiant with joy; no shadow of shame will darken their faces. In my desperation I prayed, and the Lord listened; he saved me from all my troubles.”

Grace and Peace,

Andrew

Leave a Reply

