The Heart of a Servant

During my brief time here on Earth I have learned this if nothing else, how valuable and sought after are people who are willing to help without hesitation at a moment’s notice. The ones who go the extra mile. The heart of a servant is one of the most cherished qualities among people when we look for friends or spouses. We all want people in our life we know without a doubt we can trust to be there when we need them just as we too should strive to be that person who gives without expecting a return and who loves unconditionally, always, especially when what we really want to do is freak out or get angry or hurt. Showing kindness and compassion is not only commanded of us by God, but is appreciated by our fellow humans.

Being humble and gracious are clear indicators of a servant’s heart. Watch people, see how others react to certain situations and pay close attention to how you react also. I know I have much to learn and even farther to grow to get where God wants me to be.

Trying to serve, trying to be gracious, trying to love without condition or be a friend without expectation is frustrating and at times very painful, people take advantage of tender-hearts, do these things anyway. Even if you never receive recognition here the Lord watches you and knows of your faithfulness. Above all else be faithful to the Master and keep his commandments. “But remembering to do all that stuff is hard!” It really is not, when you remember what Jesus said in Matthew 22:37-39

“Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses?” Jesus replied, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ On these commandments hinge all of the law and the prophets.”

When these are forefront in our lives, God recreates us and we seek to do good and our heart is turned from a heart of stone into a heart of flesh as it is written in Ezekiel 36:26-27

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.”

“Move you”, notice the Lord did not say “Control” you or “Force” you. His Spirit dwelling within us speaks to and pushes us to do these things, but it is still our conscious decision to live as such. Following these commands brings glory to God. It is a better way to live, bringing peace to your world even amidst hardships. Bring joy to your friends and love to those who hate you, especially when no one else sees you.
A true servant’s heart does for others more than for ourselves. I must share because the love of God within me prompts me to do so. I must love because the light of Christ at work within pours out of me, flows through me. If I stopper it up, it bursts forth anyway, until is free I am not myself nor do I feel at home. I cannot squelch my passion nor mask my face. We are called to be a city on a hill, we are lamps set on a stand, giving light, bringing hope to all who see us. We are servants of the most high and when we live as such, our servant’s heart rejoices and I myself, am content. What does that mean? Do unto others as you really want them to do to you and let not your heart be troubled. Pick up your slack, carry your weight along with those around you, and never weaken others in their faith. Instead be a strong link fastened to God in Christ and perpetually focus your heart and mind on Him. Whichever direction you are looking is the way you end up traveling. Pray for me that I not let my eyes wander again. I pray the same over you. I do not like the results I get when living for myself.

2 Corinthians 4:5-6 NIV

“For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and OURSELVES AS YOUR SERVANTS for Jesus’ sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ”

Grace and Peace,

Andrew

Leave a comment