Thanks for these humbling words. I have had much opportunity to get to know myself these last few months. I did not like what I found inside. I am learning to grow and walk without stumbling so often or so hard. Walking upright takes practice and is made easier by forgiveness. I want to not hurt anymore. I want to live in the fruit of the spirit so I may control myself, forgive, be patient, have joy again that I have not seen for so long, be kind, live justly, be faithful and gentle, and show love in everything I do and say. To those who I have the pleasure of being close with and who have uplifted me in the past, even when I did not deserve it and acted as though I did not want it, thank you. I love you. You know who you are. If not, ask me and I will tell you 😉

A DEVOTED LIFE

“The vexation of a fool is known at once, but the prudent ignores an insult.”  Proverbs 12:16

“You are going to have to grow some thicker skin.”

That is a saying that I have made to younger, discouraged, engineers on many occasions.  It was a statement that was made to me.  We usually receive this bit of wisdom after someone in our office has experienced a particularly harsh exposure to the public, delivered the bad news to a short-tempered contractor, or had to eat the fruit of a client’s bad day.

Unfortunately, rude and insulting people are not limited to the work environment.  The world seems to have an endless supply of rude and insulting people.  They are in stores, restaurants, automobiles, sporting venues, the internet, family trees, and the Church.  We have all clashed with that person.  If you have not, then you might be that person, which is…

View original post 1,335 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Okay, I’ll ask. Who?

    • Oh the usual. Mom, brother, sister, a few close friends who have prayed and counseled and loved me since meeting them, all the people who encourage me daily to stay focused and live adventurously according to the Word. A special person who prayed for me when it hurt them deeply to see where I was going, who became my pillar when my faith crumbled, which is always a bad choice because people lose hope and grow weak, when God never does. I built my house on the sand and it washed away. But they remind me to keep myself rooted on the rock of Christ everyday so I may not be destroyed, and to be a man worth loving, even though they are no longer here with me. Because of these people, I know who I want to be.

Leave a Reply

